# The Monty Tech assessment — the school bill nobody in Lunenburg votes on

*Written by the Lunenburg Budget Project. Not an official town or district document.*
*Every figure here is recomputed from `sources/data/lunenburg.db` and from the documents
named below by `scripts/verify_monty_tech.py`, which fails the build if one drifts.*

---

## What this establishes

**1. Lunenburg paid Montachusett Regional Vocational Technical $1,334,521 in FY2026, and
95.2% of that was a figure the state calculated.** The Town's own accounting system
carries it in full: department 310, account `0100-3-310-9500-00-0-00-2-532000`,
appropriated $1,334,521 and expended $1,334,521 at period 12. The district's own budget
book breaks the same figure into the parts it assesses in: a required minimum contribution
of **$1,270,711**, a transportation and other operating assessment of **$47,577**, and a
capital assessment of **$16,233**. Those three sum to the total exactly. Only the last two
— **$63,810**, 4.8% of the bill — are anything a member town negotiates.

**2. The required minimum contribution is not apportioned among member towns by their
enrolment. It is Chapter 70's local contribution, computed from Lunenburg's property value
and resident income, then split between the town's two school districts in exact
proportion to each district's share of the town's foundation budget.** DESE publishes both
halves, and the district reprinted DESE's own apportionment sheet in its FY2027 budget
presentation: FY2026 foundation enrolment 1,603 for Lunenburg Public Schools and 101 for
Montachusett, foundation budgets $22,073,946 and $2,103,516, "each district's share of
municipality's combined FY26 foundation" **91.30%** and **8.70%**, required contribution
$13,334,631 and **$1,270,711** out of a town-wide $14,605,342.

**3. So a Lunenburg child moving to Monty Tech does not raise the town's obligation. It
moves part of it from one line to the other.** The town's total required contribution is
the lesser of its combined effort yield — property wealth and resident income — and 82.5%
of its foundation budget. In all twenty years DESE publishes, the wealth figure is the
lower one and therefore the binding one, so enrolment never enters the town-wide total at
all. What enrolment changes is the split. Between FY2014 and FY2026, Monty Tech's share of
that obligation rose from **7.04%** to **8.70%**, and its dollar share from **$714,845** to
**$1,270,711** — **+77.8%** — while the town-wide obligation rose 43.9% and the Lunenburg
school district's share of it rose 41.4%.

**4. A Monty Tech pupil carries about half again the foundation budget of a Lunenburg
one, which is why the money share runs well ahead of the head share.** In FY2026 the
state's foundation budget is **$20,827** for each Lunenburg pupil at Monty Tech and
**$13,770** for each one in Lunenburg's own schools — a ratio of **1.51**. That is why
Monty Tech is **5.93%** of the town's foundation enrolment and **8.70%** of its foundation
budget and of its bill.

**5. The town's own five-year forecast of this line missed FY2026 by $329,057.** A Select
Board packet in January 2021 projected the assessment forward at 2.5% a year, reaching
**$1,005,464.38** in FY2026. The actual figure is **$1,334,521** — **32.7%** higher. The
line was being forecast as though it were an ordinary cost escalator; the thing driving it
is a state contribution formula, which over the same five years compounded at **9.3%** a
year.

**6. What the town is billed is not what the district spends, and the gap is Chapter 70.**
Monty Tech's FY2026 budget is **$34,641,344**. Chapter 70 aid paid directly to the district
covers **54.2%** of it; assessments on all eighteen member towns together cover **38.0%**.
Lunenburg's $1,334,521 is **3.85%** of the district's budget while Lunenburg is **6.79%**
of its foundation enrolment. Rule 11 exactly: the bill and the cost are different
quantities, and this archive holds the bill.

**7. Monty Tech is the larger of the two routes out of Lunenburg's own schools, and it is
not a departure.** In FY2026, 97 Lunenburg residents attend Monty Tech against 58 under
school choice and 22 at charter schools. They are reported by DESE as `Resident/Member` —
resident members of a district Lunenburg belongs to. No Lunenburg vote admits or refuses
any of them, and the count has risen in nine of the twelve years DESE publishes, from 70 in
FY2014 to 97, with the longest unbroken run being the five years FY2020 to FY2024.

**8. Eleven of the twelve figures the annual town reports give for this line fail the
extractor's own reconciliation, and they should be read as candidates.** They are published
below with their status because a series drawn from them is the only long view that exists.
What can be said for their shape: every one sits above the independently derived state
minimum for its year, by between 3.7% and 10.1% — except FY2022, which sits 0.5% above and
is the one year the Town Manager reported an assessment reduced mid-year.

---

## The assessment, year by year

Three different quantities appear here and the table never merges them: what the district
**assessed**, what the town **appropriated**, and what the town's accounting system says it
**paid**.

| FY | required minimum | transport & operating | capital | total assessed | above the minimum | source |
|---:|---:|---:|---:|---:|---:|---|
| 2023 | $1,012,282 * | $24,131 * | $17,964 * | **$1,054,376** | $42,094 | district's FY2024 book (total); Finance Committee minutes, 23 March 2022 (parts) |
| 2024 | $1,127,113 | $34,700 | $19,577 | **$1,181,390** | $54,277 | *FY24 Monty Tech Budget for Public Hearing*, line 402 |
| 2025 | $1,172,254 † | not stated | not stated | **$1,225,646** ‡ | $53,392 | Town's FY2027 budget book, line 185 |
| 2026 | $1,270,711 | $47,577 | $16,233 | **$1,334,521** | $63,810 | *FY27 Monty Tech Budget Presentation*, line 98 |
| 2027 | $1,378,183 | $74,196 | $0 | **$1,452,379** | $74,196 | *FY27 Monty Tech Budget Presentation*, line 98 |

\* The FY2023 parts are from prose in Finance Committee minutes, not from a table, and they
sum to $1,054,377 — one dollar above the total the district prints.
† Derived from DESE's workbook, not stated by the district; FY2025 is the one year in this
range with no budget book in the archive.
‡ The Town's appropriation, not a district assessment figure.

**Three places two documents state the same year, and what they say.** FY2024: the district
assessed $1,181,390 and the Town's budget book records $1,181,390.18 expended — eighteen
cents apart. FY2026: the district's book, the Town's budget book and the Town's MUNIS ledger
all say $1,334,521, to the cent. FY2027: the district says $1,452,379 and the Town's budget
book says **$1,452,426** in all three of its scenarios — **$47** apart, with neither document
acknowledging the other. The FY2025 line was budgeted at $1,225,646 and came in at
$1,224,162, $1,484 under.

### What this does not show

The FY2025 split, or the split in any of the eleven annual-report years. Only three years
in this archive publish the four parts and one more states them in prose. For every other
year the 4–10% above the state minimum cannot be attributed to transportation, to capital
or to debt — and those three behave nothing alike, since one tracks a busing contract, one
is voted annually and one is fixed until it ends.

---

## How the assessment is built

The district states its own method, and Lunenburg printed it. From the FY2017 annual town
report, printed page 146:

> DETERMINATION OF ASSESSMENT RATIOS
> Each Community's assessment is made up of four parts:
> ~ Required Minimum Contribution (set by the State)
> ~ Transportation & Other Operating Expenses above Minimum Net School Spending
> ~ Capital Outlay
> ~ Bonds (assessed based upon the Capital apportionment)

and the two ratios, on the same page:

> The number of students from each member community enrolled at Montachusett R egional
> Vocational Technical School divided by total Montachusett Regional Vocational Technical
> School Day school enrollment of member communities on October 1, 2017 equals the
> operating ratio.

> The number of students from each member community enrolled in Grades 1 through 12 divided
> by the total number of students enrolled in Grades 1 through 12 of 18 member communities
> equals the capital assessment ratio.

So two of the four parts *are* apportioned by enrolment share — but they are the small two.
The large one is the state's.

### In plain terms

The bill has two halves that behave completely differently. The big half is Chapter 70's
minimum local contribution: the state works out what Lunenburg as a whole can afford from
its property values and its residents' incomes, and then divides that between Lunenburg's
own schools and Monty Tech according to how much of the town's foundation budget each one
accounts for. Nothing the town does moves it. The small half — transportation, capital and
any bonds — is the district's own budget, apportioned by how many Lunenburg children are at
the school, and it is the part member towns argue about.

### The evidence

The required-contribution half is verifiable twice over. Subtracting the Lunenburg school
district's required local contribution from the town's, in DESE's Chapter 70 key factors
workbook, gives Monty Tech's share for FY2007 to FY2026. That subtraction is checked at
five points against figures the district's own business director gave the Finance
Committee — FY2023 $1,012,282 and a foundation enrolment moving 83 to 94 (23 March 2022),
FY2024 $1,127,113 (22 March 2023), FY2026 $1,270,711 and $20,827 a pupil (6 March 2025) —
and every one matches to the dollar. It is then checked against DESE's own apportionment
sheet as the district reprinted it, nine published fields for FY2026, all of which agree.

The share identity is measured rather than asserted: Monty Tech's share of the town's
required contribution equals its share of the town's foundation budget to a tenth of a
basis point in nineteen of the twenty years published. The exception is FY2007, off by
0.19 points.

That the town's total is wealth-bound rather than enrolment-bound is also measured: DESE's
`target local contribution` equals its `combined effort yield` in every one of those twenty
years, meaning the 82.5%-of-foundation cap never binds.

### What this does not show

What the regional agreement says. A budget book states current practice; the agreement is
what binds it, and it is not in this archive. It is the document that would say whether
those ratios can be changed, how bonds are apportioned and over what term, and what
withdrawing from the district would involve. Asked at the Finance Committee on 5 February
2026 whether the agreement was indefinite or could be renegotiated, the
Superintendent-Director said he believed it was ongoing and that amendments were very rare.
A recollection at a meeting is not the instrument.

---

## The students

| FY | Monty Tech | school choice | charter | in Lunenburg | all resident |
|---:|---:|---:|---:|---:|---:|
| 2014 | 70 | 69 | 44 | 1,513 | 1,699 |
| 2019 | 72 | 74 | 26 | 1,616 | 1,792 |
| 2022 | 90 | 77 | 28 | 1,578 | 1,781 |
| 2024 | 97 | 56 | 26 | 1,565 | 1,746 |
| 2026 | 97 | 58 | 22 | 1,553 | 1,730 |

*The full thirteen-year series is at `/api/monty-tech.json` and on `/monty-tech`.*

**Two counts of the same children, and they disagree in every year.** DESE publishes an
October headcount of Lunenburg residents attending Montachusett, and a Chapter 70 foundation
enrolment used to compute the assessment. For FY2026 they are 97 and 101. Across FY2014 to
FY2026 the difference runs from eight below to fifteen above, with no consistent sign. One
documented mechanism puts children into the assessment who are not at Monty Tech: the
district's business director told the Finance Committee in March 2022 that four Lunenburg
students attending trade programmes at Leominster and Nashoba "become part of the Monty Tech
assessment". That explains a difference in one direction and not the years running the other
way.

**So every per-student figure has to name its denominator.** The district's own budget book
prints $13,213 for FY2026, dividing the assessment by the foundation enrolment of 101.
Dividing by DESE's October headcount of 97 gives $13,758. Both are correct arithmetic on
different counts.

### What this does not show

Why the count has risen. A count is the outcome of families applying *and* of Monty Tech
admitting, and the lottery exists precisely because more apply than there are places. Asked
at the Finance Committee on 5 February 2026 how many Lunenburg students had been turned
away, the district's business manager said she was unsure of the exact number.

**And do not compare $13,213 or $13,758 against Lunenburg's own $18,027 per pupil.** The
first two are what the town is billed for a child. The last is what DESE reports Lunenburg
Public Schools spending per pupil from *all funds* — grants, revolving funds, school choice
receipts, and town-paid insurance and retirement attributed to the schools. Subtracting one
from the other produces a number that means nothing, because the assessment has no grants,
no revolving funds and no direct Chapter 70 in it: those are on Monty Tech's revenue side,
where they pay for 62% of what the district spends.

---

## The long series, and why it is drawn as candidates

The annual town reports carry a Monty Tech line from FY2011. Eleven of the twelve rows have
an established column meaning — `v1=appropriated | v2=available | v3=expended` — and **every
one of them carries `status = 'check failed'` or `'no check'`**: the extractor's own
reconciliation, against the report's printed totals, failing. CLAUDE.md forbids aggregating
across `status`, so these are candidates and not established figures.

| FY | annual report | state minimum, derived | above it | status |
|---:|---:|---:|---:|---|
| 2011 | $633,124 | $598,756 | +5.7% | check failed |
| 2013 | $681,078 | $656,476 | +3.7% | no check |
| 2014 | $757,805 | $714,845 | +6.0% | check failed |
| 2015 | $710,814 | $670,826 | +6.0% | check failed |
| 2016 | $799,478 | $738,561 | +8.2% | check failed |
| 2017 | $899,267 | $824,401 | +9.1% | check failed |
| 2018 | $877,527 | $805,318 | +9.0% | check failed |
| 2019 | $824,011 | $748,657 | +10.1% | check failed |
| 2020 | $783,987 | $712,494 | +10.0% | check failed |
| 2021 | $888,684 | $814,475 | +9.1% | check failed |
| 2022 | $876,289 | $871,685 | +0.5% | check failed |

FY2012 has no accountant's schedule row. FY2023's row exists and its page **states no
identity that fixes which printed column is which**, so its value is not read here; the
$1,054,376 in the table above comes from the district's own FY2024 budget book instead.

**What this cross-check is and is not.** Every candidate sits above an independently derived
figure by a margin consistent with the transportation and capital assessments — the same
4–10% band the four documented years show, and the FY2026 ledger figure sits at 5.0%. That
is evidence about the *shape* of the series. It is not evidence that any individual value is
right, and it cannot be: two wrong numbers can stand in the same ratio as two right ones.

The FY2022 outlier has a documented cause and it is not a defect in the extract. Town Meeting
voted $897,448 for FY2022 and a Special Town Meeting in November 2021 reduced it; the Town
Manager told the Finance Committee on 14 October 2021 that "a reduction in the Monty Tech
Assessment will cover that cost". A certified assessment can move downward mid-year.

**`report_monty_tech` is not used here at all.** Its 70 rows are Monty Tech's own budget
reprinted inside the FY2017 annual town report; its `column_meaning` is empty and its
`status` is `no check`, so `v1` there is an ordinal — the first column of that page that held
figures — and not a column name. Its label column has also absorbed the first printed figure.
Nothing on this page reads it, and the generator refuses to run if it ever silently acquires
a column meaning.

---

## What would settle the rest

| question | the document | who holds it |
|---|---|---|
| What the district spends, year over year | Monty Tech's annual budget book, and DESE's End of Year Financial Report for LEA 08320000 | the district's business office; DESE |
| The four-part split in FY2025 and before FY2023 | the district's annual assessment certification to each member town | the Town Accountant; the district |
| Whether the ratios can be changed at all | the Montachusett regional agreement and its amendments | the district; each member town's clerk; DESE |
| Why FY2027 is $1,452,379 to the district and $1,452,426 to the town | the FY2027 assessment certification, and the Monty Tech line as voted at Annual Town Meeting | the Town Accountant |
| How many Lunenburg applicants are turned away | Monty Tech's admissions summary by sending town and year | the district |
| Why DESE's two counts of the same children differ | DESE's foundation enrolment detail for the Chapter 70 calculation | DESE |

All six are registered in `sources/data/money-gaps.csv` and appear at
`/what-we-cannot-answer`.

---

## What was searched, and what that covers

The meeting archive was searched for `Monty Tech`, `Montachusett`, `vocational`,
`assessment`, `regional`, `foundation enrollment` and `required minimum contribution`.
**8,899 of the 12,015 meeting documents this archive holds are searchable — 74%.** The rest
are image scans awaiting OCR, three whose text is drawn as vector outlines, fourteen blank,
and fifty the town lists that we do not hold. An empty result is therefore *unproven*, not
disproven.

The searches found the Finance Committee taking a Monty Tech budget presentation in March in
almost every year, and they are where most of what is known about this line comes from: the
district's business director explaining the formula in 2022 and again in 2026, the required
minimum contribution stated for four separate years, and, on 8 January 2026, the Committee
agreeing "that Monty Techs assessment should be aligned with the Lunenberg Public Schools" —
which this page's arithmetic says is 95% outside its reach.

---

## A note on what kind of documents these are

Rule 13a distinguishes a printout from an accounting system from a sheet somebody assembled.
Applied here:

- **The FY2026 figure is a ledger figure.** MUNIS, general fund, period 12, with an account
  number and a period. It is the only one on this page of that kind.
- **The district's budget books are assembled documents**, and so is the Town's. They are
  used here anyway, for a specific reason: the DESE-sourced pages inside the FY2027
  presentation reproduce, field for field, a state workbook this project holds independently.
  That check is run on every build and fails it if it stops holding.
- **The annual-report figures are extractions from a printed page** and every one fails its
  own reconciliation. They are candidates and are drawn as candidates.
- **The Finance Committee minutes are somebody's summary of somebody's slide.** They are
  quoted as what was said in a room, never as a measurement — with the exception of the five
  figures that turned out to match a state workbook exactly, which is stated as the
  coincidence it is not.
