Analyses
Who ends up out of district
Of 198 children who started in a substantially separate classroom, 36 are now out of district. Of 1,232 who started in an inclusive setting, 15 are.
lunenburgbudgetproject.org — written by the Lunenburg Budget Project, an independent tool for residents. Not affiliated with the Town of Lunenburg, the School Committee or the school district.
What this report counts
Two grains, kept apart on purpose. A placement COHORT the state follows, and a HEADCOUNT the town prints on 1 March. Neither is a cost. A count of children placed says nothing about which fund paid or what any placement cost — that is the money report, and it is a separate page for exactly this reason.
What this establishes
The two starting points differ by a factor of about 15
Against the state, Lunenburg is lower from an inclusive start and higher from a substantially separate one
The town's own placement count runs from 30 down to 7 and back to 10
Two published counts of the same quantity agree in 2 of the 5 years they overlap
Where a placement leads
DESE follows a cohort from the setting its placement started in to where the same children are now. Two starting points are published for Lunenburg, and the chart is the share of each that is now out of district — with the counts in the tooltip, because the bases are tens of children.
9 years · FY2018–FY2026 · K-12 cohorts — the percentage never travels without its count
every cohort, with the destinations the file publishes
| year | grade span | started in | cohort | no longer on an IEP | included | substantially separate | out of district | unaccounted |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY18 | K-12 | Inclusive Setting | 151 | 40 | 103 | 1 | 5 · 3.3% | 2 |
| FY18 | K-12 | Substantially Separate Classroom | 12 | 0 | 3 | 4 | 5 · 41.7% | 0 |
| FY18 | K-2 | Inclusive Setting | 50 | 14 | 34 | 1 | 1 · 2.0% | 0 |
| FY19 | K-12 | Inclusive Setting | 155 | 52 | 95 | 5 | 3 · 1.9% | 0 |
| FY19 | K-12 | Substantially Separate Classroom | 15 | 0 | 2 | 7 | 6 · 40.0% | 0 |
| FY19 | K-2 | Inclusive Setting | 54 | 24 | 28 | 2 | 0 · 0.0% | 0 |
| FY20 | K-12 | Inclusive Setting | 145 | 51 | 88 | 5 | 1 · 0.7% | 0 |
| FY20 | K-12 | Substantially Separate Classroom | 20 | 0 | 6 | 8 | 6 · 30.0% | 0 |
| FY20 | K-2 | Inclusive Setting | 49 | 21 | 27 | 1 | 0 · 0.0% | 0 |
| FY21 | K-12 | Inclusive Setting | 135 | 51 | 78 | 5 | 1 · 0.7% | 0 |
| FY21 | K-12 | Substantially Separate Classroom | 22 | 4 | 5 | 8 | 5 · 22.7% | 0 |
| FY21 | K-2 | Inclusive Setting | 45 | 18 | 25 | 2 | 0 · 0.0% | 0 |
| FY21 | K-2 | Substantially Separate Classroom | 8 | 4 | 1 | 2 | 1 · 12.5% | 0 |
| FY22 | K-12 | Inclusive Setting | 136 | 54 | 76 | 5 | 1 · 0.7% | 0 |
| FY22 | K-12 | Substantially Separate Classroom | 21 | 2 | 6 | 11 | 1 · 4.8% | 1 |
| FY22 | K-2 | Inclusive Setting | 45 | 24 | 19 | 2 | 0 · 0.0% | 0 |
| FY22 | K-2 | Substantially Separate Classroom | 11 | 2 | 3 | 5 | 0 · 0.0% | 1 |
| FY23 | K-12 | Inclusive Setting | 128 | 43 | 76 | 7 | 1 · 0.8% | 1 |
| FY23 | K-12 | Substantially Separate Classroom | 22 | 0 | 8 | 13 | 1 · 4.5% | 0 |
| FY23 | K-2 | Inclusive Setting | 53 | 23 | 25 | 4 | 0 · 0.0% | 1 |
| FY23 | K-2 | Substantially Separate Classroom | 7 | 0 | 1 | 6 | 0 · 0.0% | 0 |
| FY24 | K-12 | Inclusive Setting | 126 | 42 | 73 | 11 | 0 · 0.0% | 0 |
| FY24 | K-12 | Substantially Separate Classroom | 26 | 5 | 6 | 11 | 4 · 15.4% | 0 |
| FY24 | K-2 | Inclusive Setting | 47 | 23 | 18 | 6 | 0 · 0.0% | 0 |
| FY24 | K-2 | Substantially Separate Classroom | 12 | 5 | 1 | 4 | 2 · 16.7% | 0 |
| FY25 | K-12 | Inclusive Setting | 133 | 55 | 69 | 8 | 1 · 0.8% | 0 |
| FY25 | K-12 | Substantially Separate Classroom | 32 | 3 | 8 | 17 | 4 · 12.5% | 0 |
| FY25 | K-2 | Inclusive Setting | 38 | 22 | 13 | 3 | 0 · 0.0% | 0 |
| FY25 | K-2 | Substantially Separate Classroom | 9 | 3 | 2 | 4 | 0 · 0.0% | 0 |
| FY26 | K-12 | Inclusive Setting | 123 | 40 | 74 | 7 | 2 · 1.6% | 0 |
| FY26 | K-12 | Substantially Separate Classroom | 28 | 3 | 3 | 18 | 4 · 14.3% | 0 |
| FY26 | K-2 | Inclusive Setting | 26 | 11 | 15 | 0 | 0 · 0.0% | 0 |
| FY26 | K-2 | Substantially Separate Classroom | 6 | 2 | 1 | 3 | 0 · 0.0% | 0 |
The K-2 rows in that table are a subset grade span, not a peer of the K-12 rows, so they are never added to them. 15 of them are published.
What this does not show
What this does not show
A possible explanation — nothing here tests it
What would settle it: The district’s own record of placements by origin — how many were referred from an in-district setting and how many arrived already placed — which nothing in this archive publishes.
“we currently have students on our radar that may require out of district placement and we have also had students move into the district that require out of district placements”
School Committee · 2026-02-04 · our copy · the town’s
The second half is the one this page cannot see. A cohort followed from an in-district placement measures the route through the district’s own settings; a child who arrives already placed enters the count without ever appearing in that cohort.
The town’s own count
A different instrument on the same question, and the longer of the two: the Special Services report inside every annual town report, on 1 March, split into collaborative, day and residential placements. Two checks travel with it — the parts sum to the stated total, and each year restates the previous year’s figure, which chains the series to itself.
15 years · FY2011–FY2025 · the Special Services report, measured on 1 March each year
the published rows, with their own checks
| year | as of | total | collaborative | day | residential | how the report counts collaborative | parts tie | agrees with the next year’s restatement | report | page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY11 | 2011-03-01 | 15 | — | 13 | 2 | subset of day placements | yes | — | FY2011 | 35 |
| FY12 | 2012-03-01 | 24 | — | 19 | 5 | subset of day placements | yes | — | FY2012 | 33 |
| FY13 | 2013-03-01 | 22 | — | 17 | 5 | not stated | yes | — | FY2013 | 32 |
| FY14 | 2014-03-01 | 26 | 7 | 13 | 6 | parallel category | yes | — | FY2014 | 96 |
| FY15 | 2015-03-01 | 30 | 9 | 15 | 6 | parallel category | yes | — | FY2015 | 103 |
| FY16 | 2016-03-01 | 19 | 4 | 12 | 3 | parallel category | yes | yes | FY2016 | 105 |
| FY17 | 2017-03-01 | 14 | 2 | 8 | 4 | parallel category | yes | yes | FY2017 | 102 |
| FY18 | 2018-03-01 | 14 | 6 | 5 | 3 | parallel category | yes | yes | FY2018 | 115 |
| FY19 | 2019-03-01 | 12 | 4 | 5 | 3 | parallel category | yes | yes | FY2019 | 119 |
| FY20 | 2020-03-01 | 11 | 3 | 3 | 5 | parallel category | yes | yes | FY2020 | 109 |
| FY21 | 2021-03-01 | 12 | — | — | — | not stated | — | — | recovered from FY2022 p104 | — |
| FY22 | 2022-03-01 | 8 | 4 | 2 | 2 | parallel category | yes | yes | FY2022 | 104 |
| FY23 | 2023-03-01 | 7 | 3 | 3 | 1 | parallel category | yes | yes | FY2023 | 120 |
| FY24 | 2024-03-01 | 8 | 4 | 3 | 1 | parallel category | yes | yes | FY2024 | 97 |
| FY25 | 2025-03-01 | 10 | 6 | 3 | 1 | parallel category | yes | yes | FY2025 | 92 |
What this does not show
What this does not show
The two counts, against each other
Both are published counts of Lunenburg children placed out of district, from two publishers, for the same school years. They are set side by side and left there.
the town’s count and DESE’s
| year | the town (1 March) | DESE | difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY21 | 12 | 12 | 0 |
| FY22 | 8 | 10 | 2 |
| FY23 | 7 | 4 | -3 |
| FY24 | 8 | 9 | 1 |
| FY25 | 10 | 10 | 0 |
What this does not show
What the town said about this
Searched 8,899 of the 12,015 meeting documents this archive holds (74%), covering 2009-01-05 to 2026-11-17. The other 3,116 carry no text a search can match — 3,096 of them are image scans awaiting OCR. An empty result above is a statement about what can be read, never about what was said.
The documents
dese-sped-placement-trajectory.xlsx
Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
Special Education Placement Trajectory (92x3-2qj9). Where a cohort started and where the same children are now. THE BASES ARE TENS OF CHILDREN.
table dese_sped_trajectory · 762 KB
sha256 ff3e4c9e8dd8bb7d…
dese-sped-program-characteristics.xlsx
Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
Carries DESE’s own count of Lunenburg children placed out of district, which is a second instrument on the same question.
table dese_sped_program · 5.4 MB
sha256 417435bddfcac3eb…
placement-counts.csv
Lunenburg — read from the annual town reports by this project
The Special Services report in each annual town report, sourced to SIMS Report 7 and measured on 1 March. Two checks travel with it: the parts sum to the stated total, and each year states the previous year’s figure.
table placement_counts · 2 KB
sha256 072db92dbd43e500…
What this report cannot answer
- Over what period the trajectory measures. DESE publishes the file with no documentation of the interval between the starting placement and the destination, and nothing in the workbook states it. Every rate on this page is therefore a rate over an unstated span.
- That a substantially separate placement leads to out-of-district. The cohorts starting there end out of district far more often than the cohorts starting in an inclusive setting, and that is a measurement about children who were already placed differently. Selection alone fits it: the children placed in the more intensive setting are not a random sample of the others.
- That the route runs through the district at all. The district told the School Committee in February 2026 that children arrive in Lunenburg already requiring an out-of-district placement. Such a child enters the town’s count without ever appearing in a cohort followed from an in-district setting.
- Which of the two published counts is right. They agree in some years and not others, and both are published above rather than averaged. The town counts on 1 March from SIMS Report 7; DESE publishes its own on its own census, and nothing states the two dates together.
- What any of it costs. A placement count is children placed. It says nothing about which fund paid or what any placement cost — that is the companion report, and it is a separate page for this reason.
What would close these
DESE’s methodology note for dataset 92x3-2qj9, stating the interval and the cohort rule; and the district’s own record of placements by origin — how many were referred from an in-district setting and how many arrived already placed — which nothing in this archive publishes. Every limit on this page is also a row in what we cannot answer, which is the single registry the records request reads from.